Wednesday, February 14, 2007

Elliott Smith: Rarities CD, Tracklisting

The info from Filter Magazine:

Kill Rock Stars will release a collection of unreleased music from deceased singer-songwriter Elliott Smith on May 8th. The two-CD collection titled New Moon rounds up 24 tracks recorded between 1995-1997 and will also be available on double vinyl. Some of the material is understood to have been produced by longtime collaborator Rob Schnapf, while final mixing was by Larry Crane.

The album includes an early version of his Academy Award-nominated "Miss Misery" as well as an alternate take of "Pretty Mary K," which was first released on 2000's Figure 8. A portion of the proceeds will benefit the Portland, OR based social service organization Outside In which aids homeless youth. Elliott Smith died Oct. 21, 2003, in Los Angeles due to knife wounds to the chest. His death is thought to be a suicide and the LA County Coroner's Office's investigation into Smith's death remains technically open, although it has not been active for several years and will likely remain this way indefinitely.
Filter Magazine also has the tracklisting:
Disc 1
"Angel in the Snow"
"Talking to Mary"
"High Times"
"New Monkey"
"Looking Over My Shoulder"
"Going Nowhere"
"Riot Coming"
"All Cleaned Out"
"First Timer"
"Go By"
"Miss Misery" (early version)
Disc 2
"Georgia Georgia"
"Whatever (Folk Song In C)"
"Big Decision"
"New Disaster"
"Seen How Things Are Hard"
"Fear City"
"Pretty Mary K" (other version)
"Almost Over"
"See You Later"
"Half Right"

No comments: